Vermont Regulatory Guide

The Vermont Fish and Wildlife Department regulates boating to ensure safety and environmental conservation. They enforce rules on boat registrations, safety equipment, and speed limits while actively promoting responsible boating practices through education. The department's efforts aim to create a safe and sustainable boating environment, preserving Vermont's diverse aquatic ecosystems. On this page, we navigate you through everything you need to have in place in order to ensure that your boat rental business is compliant with Vermont’s regulations, along with some other important things to keep in mind.

Boxes you need to tick

These are requirements as defined by law:

Age Requirement

Persons under 12 years of age shall not operate a motorboat powered by more than six horsepower on the public waters of this State.

License Requirement

Persons born on or after January 1, 1974 must have a valid boating safety certificate.

Record Requirement

The owner of a boat livery shall cause to be kept a record of...

The owner of a boat livery shall cause to be kept a record of the name and address of the person or persons hiring any vessel that is designed or permitted by him or her to be operated as a motorboat and the identification number and the date and time of rental. The record shall be preserved for at least six months.

Registration Requirement

Every motorboat on the waters of this State shall be numbered.

Every motorboat on the waters of this State shall be numbered. A person shall not operate or give permission for the operation of any motorboat on such waters unless the motorboat is numbered in accordance with this subchapter.

Keep in mind when renting out boats


No items found.

Not required

Livery Definition
List of Passengers

The information provided is intended to be general and informative, and should not be interpreted as regulatory, legal, or insurance advice. It does not constitute professional advice from a licensed insurance agent and does not establish an attorney-client or insurer-insured relationship. This information should not replace the counsel of a qualified legal, regulatory, or insurance professional. Always consult with a qualified professional for legal, regulatory, or insurance advice pertaining to your specific circumstances.

Boat Rental Accident Reporting

If a collision, crash, or other casualty involving a vessel results in death or injury to an individual or damage to property in excess of $2,000.00, the operator shall file with the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles within 36 hours a full description of the collision, crash, or other casualty, including such information as the Commissioner may, by rule, require.

Report Accident

Federal Regulation

The United States Coast Guard (USCG) regularly provides updates on recentchanges in regulation and have overviews of specific requirements for boatrental companies

Buoy is your one-stop shop for compliance & insurance

Buoy provides boat rental companies with peace of mind while saving time and money. When using Buoy’s insurance solution, we will help you get fully compliant free of charge.

Get peace of mind
White glove support
Download resources