Indiana Regulatory Guide

Indiana has regulations related to the operation of vessel, including boats used for leasing. These regulations cover various aspects of vessel operation, such as equipment requirements, safety procedures, and licensing requirements for operators. On this page, we navigate you through everything you need to have in place in order to ensure that your boat rental business is compliant with Indiana’s regulations, along with some other important things to keep in mind.

Boxes you need to tick

These are requirements as defined by law:

Age Requirement

Effective January 1, 1996, all motorboat operators must have a valid driver’s license to operate on all Indiana public waters. Any person who is at least 15 years old may operate a motorboat only if they successfully complete a boater education course approved by the Department of Natural Resources and have onboard an I.D. issued by the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles. No one under 15 years of age may legally operate a motorboat greater than 10 horsepower.

Equipment Requirement

Renters must check that the legally required equipment is on board. All boats must carry one wearable (Type I, II, III, or V) U. S. Coast Guard-approved PFD for each person onboard or being towed.

Insurance Requirement

All rented boats must comply with liability insurance requirements and must be provided with all the required safety equipment to operate on the waters of the state of Indiana.

Keep in mind when renting out boats


License Requirement
Boat Registration

Not required

List of Passengers

The information provided is intended to be general and informative, and should not be interpreted as regulatory, legal, or insurance advice. It does not constitute professional advice from a licensed insurance agent and does not establish an attorney-client or insurer-insured relationship. This information should not replace the counsel of a qualified legal, regulatory, or insurance professional. Always consult with a qualified professional for legal, regulatory, or insurance advice pertaining to your specific circumstances.

Boat Rental Accident Reporting

The operator of every vessel involved in an accident is required to file a report in writing if the accident results in loss of life, injury, or property damage in excess of $750.

Reports must be mailed within twenty-four (24) hours to:

Law Enforcement Division, Department of Natural Resources

402 West Washington Street, Room W255-D

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Report Accident

Federal Regulation

The United States Coast Guard (USCG) regularly provides updates on recentchanges in regulation and have overviews of specific requirements for boatrental companies

Buoy is your one-stop shop for compliance & insurance

Buoy provides boat rental companies with peace of mind while saving time and money. When using Buoy’s insurance solution, we will help you get fully compliant free of charge.

Get peace of mind
White glove support
Download resources