Nevada Regulatory Guide

Nevada has regulations related to the operation of vessel, including boats used for leasing. These regulations cover various aspects of vessel operation, such as equipment requirements, safety procedures, and licensing requirements for operators. On this page, we navigate you through everything you need to have in place in order to ensure that your boat rental business is compliant with Nevada’s regulations, along with some other important things to keep in mind.

Boxes you need to tick

These are requirements as defined by law:

Rental Agreement

Rental or lease agreement must include the names and ages of individuals authorized to operate the motorboat.

Only those listed as authorized operators are allowed to operate the rented or leased motorboat.

Boating Instructions

Renters must be provided with summary of the statutes and regulations governing the operation of a motorboat and instructions regarding the safe operation of the motorboat.

A person or an agent or employee of a person engaged in the business of renting or leasing motorboats for operation on the interstate waters must provide each authorized operator with a a summary of the statutes and regulations governing the operation of a motorboat and instructions regarding the safe operation of the motorboat.

Each person who is listed as an authorized operator of the motorboat shall review the summary of the statutes, regulations and instructions before the motorboat departs from the rental or leasing office.

Age Requirement

Renters must be minimum 18 years old

Individuals under 16 years of age can be listed as authorized operators but may only operate the motorboat under the supervision of an authorized operator who is at least 18 years old.

Record Requirement

The owner of a boat livery shall keep a record of the name and address of the person or persons hiring any vessel which is designed or permitted by him or her to be operated as a motorboat, the identification number thereof, the departure date and time, and the expected time of return.

The record must be preserved for at least 6 months.

Keep in mind when renting out boats


Boat Registration
Safety Equipment

Not required


The information provided is intended to be general and informative, and should not be interpreted as regulatory, legal, or insurance advice. It does not constitute professional advice from a licensed insurance agent and does not establish an attorney-client or insurer-insured relationship. This information should not replace the counsel of a qualified legal, regulatory, or insurance professional. Always consult with a qualified professional for legal, regulatory, or insurance advice pertaining to your specific circumstances.

Boat Rental Accident Reporting

The vessel operators involved in an accident are required to file a report in writing whenever an accident results in loss of life, loss of consciousness, medical treatment beyond first aid, or property damage exceeding $2,000. Reports in death and injury cases must be submitted within 48 hours; reports in other cases are required within 10 days.

All reports shall be submitted to the Nevada Department of Wildlife, and shall include a full description of the collision, accident or other casualty. Insurers and persons who repair damaged vessels must provide written notice of the requirement for filing boating accidents reports, and shall transmit a copy of each notice to the Department of Wildlife.

Send Report to:
Nevada Department of Wildlife

6980 Sierra Center Parkway, Suite 120

Reno, Nevada 89511

Report Accident

Federal Regulation

The United States Coast Guard (USCG) regularly provides updates on recentchanges in regulation and have overviews of specific requirements for boatrental companies

Buoy is your one-stop shop for compliance & insurance

Buoy provides boat rental companies with peace of mind while saving time and money. When using Buoy’s insurance solution, we will help you get fully compliant free of charge.

Get peace of mind
White glove support
Download resources