Oregon Regulatory Guide

The Oregon State Marine Board contracts with 32 county Sheriff's Offices and the Oregon State Police to enforce boating laws and help patrol Oregon's waterways. The Marine Board provides state-of-the-art, hands-on training for marine law enforcement and provides equipment, gear, and funding for patrol boats. On this page, we navigate you through everything you need to have in place in order to ensure that your boat rental business is compliant with Oregon's regulations, along with some other important things to keep in mind.

Boxes you need to tick

These are requirements as defined by law:

Age Requirement

Persons cannot get their boater education card until they are at least twelve (12) years old.

All boaters who operate a motorboat with over 10 horsepower must have a boating education card.

License Requirement

All boaters who operate a motorboat with over 10 horsepower must have a boating education card.


In order to obtain a charter boat license, the operator must have $500,000 per occurrence of liability insurance.

Record Requirement

The operator of a boat livery shall make and preserve for at least six months a written record of...

(1) The name of each person who hires a boat from the livery.

(2) The identifying number of the boat.

(3) The date on which the boat is hired, and the hour of departure from the livery.

(4) The expected date and hour of return.

(5) The date and hour of return.

Registration Requirement

You must register your livery operation with the Oregon Marine Board.

Safety Checklist

A safety checklist is required for renters who do not have a valid boating education card.

Keep in mind when renting out boats


Livery Definition

Not required

List of Passengers
Video Documentation

The information provided is intended to be general and informative, and should not be interpreted as regulatory, legal, or insurance advice. It does not constitute professional advice from a licensed insurance agent and does not establish an attorney-client or insurer-insured relationship. This information should not replace the counsel of a qualified legal, regulatory, or insurance professional. Always consult with a qualified professional for legal, regulatory, or insurance advice pertaining to your specific circumstances.

Boat Rental Accident Reporting

The operator of every vessel involved in an incident resulting in injury or death of any person, or total property damage in excess of $2000 is required by law to file an incident report. Form must be completed and submitted within 48 hours in case of death or injury, 10 days if incidents involve only property damage.

Oregon State Marine Board
435 Commercial St. NE., Ste 400
Salem, OR 97301

Report Accident

Federal Regulation

The United States Coast Guard (USCG) regularly provides updates on recentchanges in regulation and have overviews of specific requirements for boatrental companies

Buoy is your one-stop shop for compliance & insurance

Buoy provides boat rental companies with peace of mind while saving time and money. When using Buoy’s insurance solution, we will help you get fully compliant free of charge.

Get peace of mind
White glove support
Download resources