Arizona Regulatory Guide for Boat Rentals

Arizona has regulations related to the operation of vessel, including boats used for leasing. These regulations cover various aspects of vessel operation, such as equipment requirements, safety procedures, and licensing requirements for operators. On this page, we navigate you through everything you need to have in place in order to ensure that your boat rental business is compliant with Arizona’s regulations, along with some other important things to keep in mind.

Boxes you need to tick

These are requirements as defined by law:

Age Requirement

Renters must be minimum 18 years old

Except in case of emergency no person under the age of twelve years may operate a watercraft propelled by a motor of greater than eight horsepower unless the person's parent or legal guardian or at least one person who is eighteen years of age or older is present on the watercraft.

Registration Requirement

Certificate of Number must be carried onboard. Registration numbers and validation decals must be properly displayed on hull of boat.

Dolores qui doloremque odio facilis. Natus saepe placeat voluptatum. Ab ex ex architecto tempora quia et omnis consequatur. Voluptate harum dolorem officia. Fugit blanditiis veniam sit aliquam qui consequatur error.

Record Requirement

The owner of a boat livery shall keep or cause to be kept a record of the name and address of the person or persons hiring any watercraft

The owner of a boat livery shall keep or cause to be kept a record of the name and address of the person or persons hiring any watercraft which is designed or permitted by him to be operated as a watercraft, the identification number thereof, the departure date and time and the expected and actual time of return. Such record shall be preserved for at least three months.

The certificate of number for a watercraft less than twenty-six feet in length that is leased or rented to a person for noncommercial use of less than twenty-four hours may be retained on shore by the owner or his representative at the place from which the watercraft departs or returns to the possession of the owner or his representative. A watercraft which does not have the certificate of number on board shall be identified while in use as may be prescribed by the regulations of the commission.

Keep in mind when renting out boats


Safety Equipment
Rental Agreement

Not required

Video Documentation
List of Passengers
License Requirement

The information provided is intended to be general and informative, and should not be interpreted as regulatory, legal, or insurance advice. It does not constitute professional advice from a licensed insurance agent and does not establish an attorney-client or insurer-insured relationship. This information should not replace the counsel of a qualified legal, regulatory, or insurance professional. Always consult with a qualified professional for legal, regulatory, or insurance advice pertaining to your specific circumstances.

Boat Rental Accident Reporting

The operator or owner of every watercraft involved in a collision, accident or other casualty involving property damage exceeding $500 shall submit a written report directly to the Arizona Game and Fish Department within 5 days. Accidents involving death or serious injury shall be submitted within 48 hours.

Vessel operators involved in an accident must send a boating accident report directly to:

Arizona Game and Fish Department
Attn: Boating Law Administrator
5000 W. Carefree Hwy.
Phoenix, AZ 85086

Report Accident

Federal Regulation

The United States Coast Guard (USCG) regularly provides updates on recentchanges in regulation and have overviews of specific requirements for boatrental companies

Buoy is your one-stop shop for compliance & insurance

Buoy provides boat rental companies with peace of mind while saving time and money. When using Buoy’s insurance solution, we will help you get fully compliant free of charge.

Get peace of mind
White glove support
Download resources