New Hampshire Regulatory Guide

New Hampshire has regulations related to the operation of vessel, including boats used for leasing. These regulations cover various aspects of vessel operation, such as equipment requirements, safety procedures, and licensing requirements for operators. On this page, we navigate you through everything you need to have in place in order to ensure that your boat rental business is compliant with New Hampshire’s regulations, along with some other important things to keep in mind.

Boxes you need to tick

These are requirements as defined by law:

Age Requirement

Renter must be minimum 16 years old.

Dolores qui doloremque odio facilis. Natus saepe placeat voluptatum. Ab ex ex architecto tempora quia et omnis consequatur. Voluptate harum dolorem officia. Fugit blanditiis veniam sit aliquam qui consequatur error.

Boating Education Certificate Requirement

Everyone 16 years of age and older who operates a motorboat over 25 horsepower on New Hampshire waters must have a boating education certificate.

Rental Safety Checklist Requirement

No one can rent a vessel without the rental operator signing a safety checklist, proving their knowledge of boating safety laws and holding a boating safety certificate. Additionally, renting or leasing motorized watercraft requires providing the renter with written operating instructions and reviewing these instructions and New Hampshire navigation laws with them.

The rental safety checklist shall include, but shall not be limited to, knowledge of the following provisions of the marine laws:(1) Safe passage.(2) DWI.(3) Headway speed.(4) Safety equipment.(5) Navigational lights requirements.(b) The checklists shall include a provision which states that the rental operator is responsible for anyone who operates the vessel

Keep in mind when renting out boats


Livery Definition
License Requirement
Boat Registration

Not required

List of Passengers

The information provided is intended to be general and informative, and should not be interpreted as regulatory, legal, or insurance advice. It does not constitute professional advice from a licensed insurance agent and does not establish an attorney-client or insurer-insured relationship. This information should not replace the counsel of a qualified legal, regulatory, or insurance professional. Always consult with a qualified professional for legal, regulatory, or insurance advice pertaining to your specific circumstances.

Boat Rental Accident Reporting

The operator must immediately stop the vessel at the scene if involved in an accident resulting in death, injury, or property damage, the operator .

The operator is required to provide assistance to anyone injured and share their personal and vessel information with other involved parties. If the injured person or other involved parties are unable to receive this information due to their condition or absence from the scene, the operator must provide it to a marine patrol officer or other police officer at the scene or the nearest police station.

The operator must report the accident to the department of safety within 15 days, especially if there is an injury, death, or property damage exceeding $2,000. If the operator is unable to make the report, the vessel owner or their representative must do so.

Report Accident

Federal Regulation

The United States Coast Guard (USCG) regularly provides updates on recentchanges in regulation and have overviews of specific requirements for boatrental companies

Buoy is your one-stop shop for compliance & insurance

Buoy provides boat rental companies with peace of mind while saving time and money. When using Buoy’s insurance solution, we will help you get fully compliant free of charge.

Get peace of mind
White glove support
Download resources