Idaho Regulatory Guide

Idaho has regulations related to the operation of vessel, including boats used for leasing. These regulations cover various aspects of vessel operation, such as equipment requirements, safety procedures, and licensing requirements for operators. On this page, we navigate you through everything you need to have in place in order to ensure that your boat rental business is compliant with Idaho’s regulations, along with some other important things to keep in mind.

Boxes you need to tick

These are requirements as defined by law:

Acknowledgment of Education Form

All persons operating a rented, leased, or hired personal water craft must carry on board for inspection by any law enforcement officer valid "Idaho PW renter's acknowledgment of education" form

Renter Orientation Checklist

Renters must be instructed on and understand the rules and information provided in the Renter Orientation Checklist

Rental Instructions

Persons who offer personal watercraft (PWC) for rent must provide education to the renter before they are allowed to operate the vessel‍

Personal Watercraft Livery (Rental) Application

Renters must sign and submit Personal Watercraft Livery Application to Idaho Dept of Parks & Recreation

Keep in mind when renting out boats


Mandatory Inspection
Boat Registration

Not required

Renter Insurance
Livery Definition
Age Requirement

The information provided is intended to be general and informative, and should not be interpreted as regulatory, legal, or insurance advice. It does not constitute professional advice from a licensed insurance agent and does not establish an attorney-client or insurer-insured relationship. This information should not replace the counsel of a qualified legal, regulatory, or insurance professional. Always consult with a qualified professional for legal, regulatory, or insurance advice pertaining to your specific circumstances.

Boat Rental Accident Reporting

The operator of any vessel involved in a collision, accident or other casualty resulting in death, injury or property damage in excess of $1,500 must file a Boating Accident Report.

Reports in cases of death, incapacitating injury or disappearance must be submitted within 48 hours. Reports in other cases must be submitted within 10 days.

All reports shall be submitted to the sheriff of the county in which the accident occurred, and a copy shall be readily transmitted by the sheriff’s department to the State Boating Law Enforcement Coordinator, Idaho Department of Parks and Recreation.

Submit the report to:


PO BOX 83720

BOISE, ID 83720-0065

Report Accident

Federal Regulation

The United States Coast Guard (USCG) regularly provides updates on recentchanges in regulation and have overviews of specific requirements for boatrental companies

Buoy is your one-stop shop for compliance & insurance

Buoy provides boat rental companies with peace of mind while saving time and money. When using Buoy’s insurance solution, we will help you get fully compliant free of charge.

Get peace of mind
White glove support
Download resources