Arkansas Regulatory Guide for Boat Rentals

Arkansas has regulations related to vessel operation, including boats used for leasing. These regulations cover various aspects of vessel operation, such as equipment requirements, safety procedures, and operator licensing requirements. On this page, we navigate you through everything you need to have in place to ensure that your boat rental business complies with Arkansas's regulations, along with some other important things to keep in mind.

Boxes you need to tick

These are requirements as defined by law:

Registration Requirement

Certificate of Number must be carried onboard. Registration numbers and validation decals must be properly displayed on hull of boat.

Dolores qui doloremque odio facilis. Natus saepe placeat voluptatum. Ab ex ex architecto tempora quia et omnis consequatur. Voluptate harum dolorem officia. Fugit blanditiis veniam sit aliquam qui consequatur error.

Insurance Requirement

A personal watercraft livery shall carry liability insurance in an amount of not less than five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000)

Age Requirement

A personal watercraft livery may not enter into a lease for rental agreement for a personal watercraft with any person under eighteen (18) years of age

Boating Instructions

A personal watercraft livery must furnish rental operators with printed information detailing local boating regulations and rules, encompassing no-entry zones, no-wake zones, channel routes, water hazards, and tidal flow if applicable, before rental.

Video Instruction Requirement

Operators of rental personal watercraft shall be required by livery operators to view a personal watercraft instructional video approved by the Arkansas State Game and Fish Commission Boating Safety Office.

Keep in mind when renting out boats


Rental Agreement
Equipment Requirement (AK)

Not required

List of Passengers
Record Requirement

The information provided is intended to be general and informative, and should not be interpreted as regulatory, legal, or insurance advice. It does not constitute professional advice from a licensed insurance agent and does not establish an attorney-client or insurer-insured relationship. This information should not replace the counsel of a qualified legal, regulatory, or insurance professional. Always consult with a qualified professional for legal, regulatory, or insurance advice pertaining to your specific circumstances.

Boat Rental Accident Reporting

An operator involved in a boating accident must:

• Stop his or her vessel immediately at the scene of the accident and...

• Assist anyone injured or in danger from the accident, unless doing so would seriously endanger his or her own vessel or passengers and...

• Give, in writing, his or her name, address, and vessel identification to anyone injured from the accident and to the owner of any damaged property.

The operator or owner of a vessel involved in an accident must notify immediately the AGFC or local sheriff’s department if:

• A person dies or disappears or...

• A person is injured or...

• Damage to the vessel or other property is $2,000 or more

• Within ten (10) working days.

The notifications should be made via phone call to either 833-356-082 or 450-1255-3475.

Report Accident

Federal Regulation

The United States Coast Guard (USCG) regularly provides updates on recentchanges in regulation and have overviews of specific requirements for boatrental companies

Buoy is your one-stop shop for compliance & insurance

Buoy provides boat rental companies with peace of mind while saving time and money. When using Buoy’s insurance solution, we will help you get fully compliant free of charge.

Get peace of mind
White glove support
Download resources